Thursday, September 24, 2009

Lanterna - Elm Street

Lanterna is a musical project led by guitarist Henry Frayne, formerly of Area and The Moon Seven Times. Their tracks are evocative soundscapes, usually instrumental, that focus on Frayne's melodic guitar work awash in effects.

Their first release was a collaboration between Frayne, drummer Brendan Gamble and vocalist Lynn Canfield which the band self-released in 1992. Some of these tracks reappeared later that year on the Greek vinyl-only, Elfish label release Of Shapes That Haunt Thought's Wilderness. The recordings were re-released on both Parasol Records and Rykodisc in 1995 and 1998, respectively. The Rykodisc version led off with the song "Silent Hills." The track later appeared on the first disc of National Public Radio's "All Songs Considered" CD series, which collected songs used as interstitial music during All Things Considered. Four albums followed on Badman/Jemez Mountain.

Release: 2001
Country: USA
Type: Album
Length: 59:58


01. Elm Street
02. B minor
03. Spirits
04. Thirty
05. Departures
06. Old Seattle
07. Wolves
08. Smoke
09. Saturn's Rings
10. New Moon
11. Glass
12. Dog Days

Product Description
'Elm Street' the compelling all instrumental follow up to their acclaimed debut album 'Lanterna.' 'Elm Street' transcends whatever label or genre put on it. Equally at home in collections of rock, new age or ambient music, it is simply a beautiful collection of songs suitable for every moment of the day listening. 2001 Badman Records release.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...