Thursday, March 5, 2009

Nirvana - Nevermind

Nirvana formed in 1987 in Aberdeen, Washington. They signed to independent label Sub Pop records and released their first album, Bleach in June 1989. The band moved to Olympia in 1989 and eventually Seattle in 1990, trying out many drummers and eventually settling first on Chad Channing and then Dave Grohl, from the Washington D.C. band, Scream. Soon, they signed to up-and-coming major label DGC (David Geffen Company).

They exploded into the mainstream with the release of Nevermind in September 1991 and the single "Smells Like Teen Spirit", immedately bringing to the forefront a rock sub-genre called "grunge". In 1992 Nirvana released a compilation of B-Sides and outtakes titled Incesticide. Also in 1992, frontman Kurt Cobain married Hole lead singer Courtney Love, and they had a daughter, Frances Bean, later that year.

Nirvana - 1991 - Nevermind


1 Smells Like Teen Spirit 5:01
2 In Bloom 4:14
3 Come as You Are 3:39
4 Breed 3:03
5 Lithium 4:17
6 Polly 2:56
7 Territorial Pissings 2:22
8 Drain You 3:44
9 Lounge Act 2:36
10 Stay Away 3:32
11 On a Plain 3:16
12 Something in the Way 3:52


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...