Saturday, March 21, 2009

Clint Mansell - The Fountain

The Fountain is a 2006 American science fiction/fantasy film directed by Darren Aronofsky that follows three interwoven narratives that take place in the age of conquistadors, the modern-day period, and the far future. The film stars Hugh Jackman and Rachel Weisz, whose characters' romance exists in all three time periods. The Fountain explores the themes of love and mortality, drawing influences from the The Fountain of Youth and The Tree of Life. The film is framed with visual language by using transition scenes, light, and shapes. It was produced by Warner Bros. Pictures and Regency Enterprises, and was distributed by 20th Century Fox outside of the US.

Clint Mansell ,the Kronos Quartet and Mogwai have accomplished what VERY few film composers of this day and age have been able to:create a nearly flawless masterpiece which makes the film more than a visual experience,but can stand on it's own as a treasured album.You probably won't appreciate the music as much unless you see the film first,though.
I would describe the music as some-what Philip Glass-esque,because it works its way into scenes in waves most of the time which ebb and flow,and then grow in intensity.Some tracks reach enormous heights of intensity,while others ride on the thin line between ambient music and a full,orchestral tone.At the soundtracks highest peak,probably in one of the last tracks,you will find the only really loud music for only a matter of maybe 30 seconds or so,and you should see the film to get a full grasp of how powerful that half-minute truly is!

Clint Mansell - The Fountain

Year : 2006


01 The Last Man
02 Holy Dread!
03 Tree of Life
04 Stay With Me
05 Death is a Disease
06 Xibalba
07 First Snow
08 Finish It
09 Death is the Road to Awe
10 Together We Will Live Forever

Link in comments

1 comment:

treasurebox said...


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...